Beginner -- Using App without Devices

Hello – I am brand new to the app and spin bike exercise in general. I have a front flywheel spinbike that does capture time, distance, speed, power, cadence, and heart rate – but, it is all done via old-school wires to a small monochrome monitor native to the bike. I don’t see any way to make this a wireless device to send data to the Sufferfest application. I looked at many sensors, and it looks like I can attach a cadence sensor to the pedals, but I don’t see any way to attach a speed sensor to the fixed front flywheel – I even bought the Garmin speed sensor, but returned it. So, is there a worthwhile way to use the Sufferfest app without devices? If not, I think I would probably replace the bike for an integrated solution, rather than buy a bunch of separate devices for cadence, speed, power, and heart rate; and then waste my days dealing with connection problems. Any advice? Thank you.

1 Like

First of all welcome and we are always glad to have new Sufferlandrians. Question: Do you ride outside and if so you can buy a dumb trainer and go from there. The spin bile you have is not going to get you working with the app I am afraid. Contact theminions@thesufferfest.com for detailed help on getting you up and suffering.

1 Like

Until you get sorted with linked devices you can potentially use the RPE (rate of perceived effort/exertion) scale. It’s how it all worked in the pre-apps days when it was just videos

But you’ll definitely get a lot more out of it with an integrated set up.

1 Like